New Technology Advisory Board members

News – 8 April 2024
Our Future Health is pleased to welcome new members to our Technology Advisory Board. This includes experts and technical leaders across a range of sectors.

Role of the Technology Advisory Board

Our Technology Advisory Board provides valuable advice on important decisions related to our platform and digital interfaces to ensure that they work in a sustainable, agile and effective way. They provide critique and challenge to our plans​ and help to address the specific technology questions and challenges​ that we face. The board covers a range of topics, including data privacy, cyber resilience, software development, accessibility and data science.

Members of the Technology Advisory Board

The board meets four times a year and brings together experts and technical leaders in a range of fields, including data ethics, cybersecurity, AI, software engineering, clinical data standards and data analytics. The board also includes members of the public with technology expertise to help ensure that the public voice is heard and represented within the programme. 

The new members are: 

-James Babbage, Director General for Threats (Economic and Organised Crime) 

-Simon Bolton, Non-Executive Director and Advisor with a specific interest in technology across the healthcare and education sectors, previously CEO of NHS Digital. 

-Cennydd Bowles, technology ethicist and interaction designer, Fulbright Visiting Scholar at Elon University and former Principal Technology Advisor to the Information Commissioners Office. 

-Jeff Hammerbacher, Board Member, Investor and Advisor 

-Emily Jefferson, Chief Technology Officer at Health Data Research UK, Interim Director of DARE UK and Professor of Health Data Science 
-Diana Kennedy, Chief Technology Officer at Bupa. 

-Keith Mitchell, Founder and CTO of KM Digital Solutions and Technical Director for GOV.UK App and AI, Government Digital Service. 

-Helen Parkinson, Head of knowledge management at European Bioinformatics Institute. 

-Tomas Sanchez-Lopez, Director of Technology and Data Integration at NHS England.     

-Piers Stobbs, Vice President of Science at Deliveroo and member of Royal Statistical Society Data Science & AI Committee. 

-Vishaal Virani, Head of Health at YouTube UK & Ireland and founder of Doctorpreneurs community. 

We are very grateful to the members of the advisory board who have invested considerable time, energy and enthusiasm towards the Our Future Health mission. Members of the board who have departed from their positions are John Noble, Richard Corbridge, Rebecca Harmston and Silvia Cerolini. 

Marko Balabanovic, Chief Technology Officer at Our Future Health, commented: “We are delighted to be welcoming new Technology Advisory Board members and I look forward to working with them to deliver an exceptional health research programme. Together we will work to ensure that our technology platforms for both participants and researchers are safe, secure and fit for the future.”

Our governance

The Technology Advisory Board is just one of the governing boards shaping Our Future Health. Other boards include our Ethics Advisory Board, Scientific Advisory Board and Public Advisory Board. More details of these groups and our wider governance structure can be explored here.