New Scientific Advisory Board members

News – 4 April 2024
Our Future Health is welcoming new members to our Scientific Advisory Board.

Role of the Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board works with Our Future Health to ensure that our research programme meets the highest scientific standards. The board advises on a range of topics including the Study Protocol, scientific possibilities and priorities for the research programme, behavioural science, biospecimens and analyses, genetics and genotyping, and exposure domains and tools, all with a view to maximising scientific utility and impact.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

The new members are:

  • Professor Linda Bauld, Bruce and John Usher Professor of Public Health and Co-Head of the Centre for Population Health Sciences at the University of Edinburgh and Chief Social Policy Adviser to the Scottish Government.
  • Professor Ros Eeles, Professor and Group Leader at the Institute of Cancer Research and Honorary Consultant in Clinical Oncology and Oncogenetics at The Royal Marsden.
  • Professor Thalia Eley, Professor of Developmental Behavioural Genetics at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience, King’s College London.

Michael Cook, Executive Director of Science at Our Future Health, commented: “It is our pleasure to be welcoming three new Scientific Advisory Board members and we look forward to working with them to deliver an exceptional health research programme. Together we will work to ensure that Our Future Health is the best resource it can be for both researchers and our participants, allowing us to help people live healthier lives for longer.”

Our governance

The Scientific Advisory Board is just one of the governing boards that are shaping Our Future Health. Other boards include our Ethics Advisory Board, Technology Advisory Board and Public Advisory Board. More details of these groups and our wider governance structure can be explored here.